No Fault and Uncontested Divorces in Wexford County, Michigan
In Michigan, since the state is a “no-fault” state, marital discord is always considered “irreconcilable differences.”
Although uncontested divorce is available throughout the state, not all Michigan divorces are uncontested. Many marriages end in divorce because of issues including alimony, child support, child custody, and property division; or when one spouse is abusive or unwilling to terminate the relationship. Both parties typically hire attorneys in these situations, with a pricey and lengthy legal battle ensuing. Couples may save a lot of time and money by choosing an uncontested divorce instead of a contentious divorce.
What is an Uncontested Divorce?
In Michigan, a divorce can be uncontested if both spouses agree to dissolve their marriage amicably and without the time and expense of a lengthy trial. If there are no significant disagreements and both spouses want to go through with it, the proceeding can be completed more smoothly and with minimal cost.
If you seek an uncontested divorce in Michigan, only one attorney is typically hired to draw up the paperwork. Though an attorney cannot represent both parties in a divorce proceeding, the parties can reach agreements and share them with the attorney to be set forth in a written Consent Judgement of Divorce to be agreed to by both parties in writting.
If you need a divorce lawyer in the Cadillac area, contact our law office today at 231-775-7300 to schedule a consultation!
How Long Does an Uncontested Divorce in Michigan Take?
The typical divorce process is significantly shorter if both spouses agree to the terms instead of going to trial. If you or your spouse want to file for divorce in Michigan, please note that at least one of you must have lived here for a minimum of six months or 180 days. Also, make sure that at least one spouse has resided in the county where the complaint will be filed for no less than 10 days before filing. If no children are involved, the divorce can be finalized within 60 days. If the parties have minor children, there is a six-month waiting period. In rare cases, these requirements may be waived, but generally, you should expect to follow these guidelines.
Attorney Mark R. Mitchell and his team understand how tough it is for families during a divorce. We are experienced and help our clients to better understand the divorce process. Our aim is to make things as well as possible. If you’re looking for a consultation with an experienced Wexford County divorce attorney, contact us today at 231-775-7300